CMT names seven nominees for new social-only category “Trending Comeback Song of the Year”


Vote now via @CMT Instagram Stories

NASHVILLE, TN -- (April 5, 2022) -- CMT today introduced an all-new, socially-voted category honoring superstar hitmakers who have cemented their status in music history with classic songs that withstood the test of time, and have found themselves the catalyst of recent social trends as their hits still resonate with fans old and new:  “Trending Comeback Song of the Year.”

Beginning today, fans can vote for their favorite nominees by swiping up on CMT’s Instagram Story through Saturday, April 9th. The winner will be announced across CMT’s social platforms ahead of the 2022 CMT MUSIC AWARDS, airing on CBS on Monday, April 11th. 

The following seven superstar acts are nominated for “Trending Comeback Song of the Year”:

  • Alan Jackson - "Freight Train"

  • Brooks & Dunn - "Neon Moon"

  • Dolly Parton - "9 to 5"

  • Reba - "I'm A Survivor"

  • Sara Evans - "Suds in the Bucket"

  • Shania Twain - "Man! I Feel Like A Woman!"

  • Taylor Swift - "Love Story"

Last year, Taylor Swift took home the 2021 socially-voted “Best Family Feature” category for “The Best Day (Taylor’s Version).”

For more information, visit, follow @CMT on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, YouTube and TikTok, use hashtag #CMTawards and ‘like’ the CMT Music Awards on Facebook.



Celebrated for its high-powered, world-premiere and cross-genre performances, the CMT MUSIC AWARDS have aired live since 2005, delivering Nashville’s biggest party to music fans across the globe. The 2021 show, hosted by superstars Kelsea Ballerini and Kane Brown, featured the most first-time collaborations and blended-genre pairings in show history. Standout performances included H.E.R. + Chris Stapleton, Gladys Knight, Mickey Guyton + BRELAND, and NEEDTOBREATHE + Carrie Underwood, who remains the most-awarded artist in CMT Awards history with 23 wins. More information on this year’s show is available here.

Press Contacts for CMT:

Ali Marszalkowski,

Rebecca Lawlor,

Renee Oliver,

Shannon Leigh Keenan,


2022 CMT Music Awards


Viacom Entertainment Group © 2024 MTV Networks. All Rights Reserved.