Global superstar Kane Brown kicks off April on CBS with 2023 “CMT Music Awards” and “Fire Country”


Global superstar Kane Brown kicks off April on CBS with
2023 “CMT Music Awards” and “Fire Country”

Brown to co-host “CMT Music Awards” LIVE from Austin on Sunday, April 2nd;
sets world TV premiere of history-making #1 hit “Thank God” with wife Katelyn Brown

Follows with acting debut on #1 new series “Fire Country” on Friday, April 7th

** 2023 CMT Press Credential Application now open **

CMT + CBS images | logos | promo video

AUSTIN, TX + NASHVILLE, TN – (February 23) – CBS and CMT together announce multi-platinum entertainer Kane Brown is set to return as co-host of the 2023 CMT MUSIC AWARDS, alongside Kelsea Ballerini, for Austin’s first major televised awards airing LIVE from Moody Center on Sunday, April 2nd (8:00-11:00 PM, ET/PT). Paramount Global’s signature country music tentpole – and country’s only entirely fan-voted award show – premieres on the CBS Television Network and is available to stream live and on demand on Paramount+.* 

Brown will also pull double duty as performer, teaming with wife Katelyn Brown for the broadcast world premiere of their multi-week #1 hit single, “Thank God.” The history-making duet has over 210 million streams and cements the Browns as only the second married couple in country music history to earn a #1 on both Billboard and Aircheck charts. 

Following the 2023 CMT MUSIC AWARDS, Brown will make his acting debut on the hit new drama FIRE COUNTRY on Friday, April 7th (9:00-10:00 PM, ET/PT) via CBS Television Network and available to stream live and on demand on Paramount+. He will play Robin, an enigmatic, modern-day train hopper who helps injured patients on the scene of a crash. A Robin Hood of sorts, he’s an outlaw on the run with a heart of gold.

For more information and news on the 2023 CMT MUSIC AWARDS, visit and, use hashtag #CMTAwards and follow @CMT on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, YouTube and Tik Tok.

About Kane Brown:
Since the arrival of his self-titled, 2X Platinum debut album in December 2016, Kane Brown has ascended from social media notability to become one of country music’s most accomplished mainstays while continuing to expand the perception of country music and break musical boundaries. Named to the Time100 list of the most influential people in the world, Brown has released 3 studio albums, 3 EP’s, has over 13 billion streams, multiple Multi-Platinum, Platinum and Gold RIAA certifications, sold out arenas across the country, is the recipient of 5 American Music Awards, and was the first black solo artist to receive an ACM Award for Video of the Year for his emotionally charged hit single “Worldwide Beautiful.”

Known for his high energy on the stage, Brown has sold out arenas and festivals. In 2022, The Drunk or Dreaming Tour saw Brown perform sold-out arena shows across Australia, New Zealand and Canada, and he continues his tour in 2023 with U.S. dates including Fenway Park. He was also the most-nominated artist for the 2022 CMT MUSIC AWARDS.

With the release of Brown’s most recent album, Different Man, on September 9 2022, Brown took “his hitmaker status to the next level” (Associated Press), while The NY Times noted, “Kane Brown didn’t fit the country music mold. So he made his own.” Different Man debuted Top 2 on the Billboard Country Chart and includes the Platinum, #1 single “One Mississippi,” and #1 single, “Like I Love Country Music” which is his fastest rising #1 single in the U.S. while also being #1 at Australian Country Radio and #1 for 7 consecutive weeks at Canadian Country Radio.  His most recent single “Thank God,” featuring his wife, Katelyn Brown, accumulated over 10 million streams in the first week, a career high for Streams in First Week, and made history as the second country music married couple to hit #1 on the U.S. Country Radio Charts.


Celebrated for its high-powered, world-premiere and cross-genre performances, the CMT MUSIC AWARDS have aired live since 2005, delivering Nashville’s biggest party to music fans across the globe. The 2022 show, hosted by superstars Anthony Mackie, Kelsea Ballerini and Kane Brown, featured performances from country music’s biggest stars with epic first-time collaborations and cross-genre pairings, including Jimmie Allen, Monica + Little Big Town, Kenny Chesney, Mickey Guyton + Black Pumas, Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris + Ryan Hurd, Keith Urban, the last televised performance from legendary duo The Judds, and Carrie Underwood, who remains the most-awarded artist in CMT Awards history with 25 wins. 2022 CMT MUSIC AWARDS highlights available here


FIRE COUNTRY stars Max Thieriot (SEAL TEAM) as Bode Donovan, a young convict seeking redemption and a shortened prison sentence by joining a prison release firefighting program in Northern California, where he and other inmates are partnered with elite firefighters to extinguish massive, unpredictable wildfires across the region. FIRE COUNTRY also stars Billy Burke, Kevin Alejandro, Diane Farr, Stephanie Arcila, Jordan Calloway and Jules Latimer. Tony Phelan, Joan Rater, Tia Napolitano, Max Thieriot, Jerry Bruckheimer and KristieAnne Reed are executive producers. The series is produced by CBS Studios. Since its premiere on Oct. 7, FIRE COUNTRY has averaged 8.5 million viewers per episode, making it the top new broadcast series of the season. With live +35-day multi platform viewing, more than 10 million viewers an episode are watching FIRE COUNTRY across Linear + Streaming platforms.

*Paramount+ Premium subscribers will have access to stream live via the live feed of their local CBS affiliate on the service as well as on demand. Essential-tier subscribers will have access to on-demand the day after the special airs.


^Source:  Nielsen Media Research, Most Current Ratings for April 11, 2022.

* * *

Press Contacts: 

Ali Marszalkowski | 

Shannon Leigh Keenan |


Kate Fisher (CMTMA) | 

Noelle Llewellyn (Fire Country) |  

Mallory Mason (CMTMA, Fire Country) |  

Kane Brown

Jennifer Vessio |


2023 CMT Music Awards


Viacom Entertainment Group © 2024 MTV Networks. All Rights Reserved.