Winner of VIDEO OF THE YEAR Determined By Fan Voting During the Live 2009 CMT MUSIC AWARDS Broadcast

NASHVILLE – June 4, 2009 – In anticipation of country music’s only fan-voted awards show, USA WEEKEND BREAKTHROUGH VIDEO OF THE YEAR nominee Julianne Hough gives fans a closer look at the VIDEO OF THE YEAR nominees as she hosts the 2009 CMT MUSIC AWARDS VIDEO OF THE YEAR SPECIAL, premiering Saturday, June 13 at 2:00 p.m., ET/PT.

This one-hour special features the ten videos nominated for VIDEO OF THE YEAR, which include Trace Adkins’ “You’re Gonna Miss This”; Kenny Chesney featuring The Wailers’ “Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven”; Toby Keith’s “God Love Her”; Kid Rock’s “All Summer Long”; Lady Antebellum’s “Lookin’ For A Good Time”; Brad Paisley’s “Waitin’ On A Woman”; Rascal Flatts’ “Every Day”; Sugarland’s “All I Want To Do”; Taylor Swift’s “Love Story”; and Carrie Underwood’s “Just A Dream”. Fans can now vote online at CMT.com through Sunday, June 14 to determine the winners. The final four nominees for VIDEO OF THE YEAR will be announced at the beginning of the live show and fans can vote at CMT.com and via text on their Verizon Wireless phones throughout the live broadcast (ET/CT only) to determine the night’s big winner.

Julianne Hough recently topped both the country and Top 200 charts with her self-titled debut album, as well as with the infectious debut single "That Song In My Head." Her first holiday album, The Julianne Hough Holiday Collection, was a top-selling Christmas release for Target stores and she recently took home the 2009 ACM award for "Top New Female Vocalist" and "Top New Artist".
Hosted by actor/comedian Bill Engvall, the 2009 CMT MUSIC AWARDS will include performances by Trace Adkins, Jason Aldean, Dierks Bentley, Toby Keith, Lady Antebellum, Brad Paisley, Kellie Pickler, Rascal Flatts, Darius Rucker, Sugarland, Taylor Swift, Keith Urban and British rockers Def Leppard. Presenters for the eighth annual awards show include American Idol’s Randy Jackson, rockers Kid Rock and Ted Nugent, The O'Reilly Factor’s Bill O’Reilly and actor Luke Wilson. The 2009 CMT MUSIC AWARDS will premiere LIVE on Tuesday, June 16 at 8:00 p.m., ET/PT on CMT and CMT.com.

Visit CMT's press-only web site www.cmtmusicawardspress.com for more information about the 2009 CMT MUSIC AWARDS and media credentialing

CMT, a unit of Viacom’s MTV Networks (NYSE: VIA and VIA.B), is the leading television and digital authority on country music and entertainment, reaching more than 88 million homes in the U.S. CMT and its website, CMT.com, offer an unparalleled mix of music, news, live concerts and series and is the top resource for country music on demand. The network’s digital platforms include the 24-hour music channel, CMT Pure Country, CMT Mobile and CMT VOD.

MTV Networks, a division of Viacom (NYSE: VIA, VIA.B), is one of the world’s leading creators of entertainment content, with brands that engage and connect diverse audiences across television, online, mobile, games, virtual worlds and consumer products. The company’s portfolio spans more than 150 television channels and 350 digital media properties worldwide, and includes MTV, VH1, CMT, Logo, Harmonix, Nickelodeon, Nick at Nite, Noggin, The N, AddictingGames, Neopets, COMEDY CENTRAL, Spike TV, TV Land, Atom, GameTrailers and Xfire.

*EDITORS: The 2009 CMT MUSIC AWARDS will premiere LIVE on Tuesday, June 16 at 8:00 PM, Eastern and 7:00 PM, Central; and at 9:00 PM, Mountain and 8:00 PM, Pacific (tape delayed).


Cindy McLean

Natasha Powell


2009 CMT Music Awards


Viacom Entertainment Group © 2021 MTV Networks. All Rights Reserved.