2023 “CMT Music Awards” reveal top 6 “Video of the Year” finalists


  • CMT today revealed the top 6 finalists vying for the night’s most-coveted “Video of Year” award at the 2023 CMT MUSIC AWARDS, with fan voting now open at vote.cmt.com.

    • The final six “Video of the Year” nominees are:

      • Blake Shelton - “No Body”

      • Carrie Underwood - “Hate My Heart”

      • Cody Johnson - “Human”

      • HARDY feat. Lainey Wilson - “wait in the truck”

      • Kane Brown & Katelyn Brown - “Thank God”

      • Morgan Wallen - “You Proof”

    • Over the past three weeks, fans have cast their votes across all categories, including “Video of the Year,” narrowing down to the top six finalists from the original list of 16 nominees. On the morning of Sunday, April 2nd, these six will be narrowed down to top three, with voting continuing through the live show, leading up to the big reveal at the end of the night. 

    • This year’s Top 6 sees Carrie Underwood competing for her fifth consecutive “Video of the Year” win and tenth overall in the category, as she remains the most awarded artist in CMT Music Awards history with 25 career wins. 

    • Should Kane Brown and Katelyn Brown win, they would make history as the first husband and wife duo to win the coveted award. This would also be the first win for each of them in the category.

    • A win for Blake Shelton would mark his second time winning “Video of the Year,” with the first earned in 2018, and a win by Cody Johnson, HARDY, Lainey Wilson or Morgan Wallen would be their first win in the category.

Previously announced 2023 CMT MUSIC AWARDS news:

  • HOSTS: Kane Brown + Kelsea Ballerini

  • PERFORMERS: Blake Shelton, Carly Pearce, Carrie Underwood, Cody Johnson, Jelly Roll, Kane Brown + Katelyn Brown, Keith Urban, Kelsea Balerini, Lainey Wilson, The Black Crowes + Darius Rucker, Tyler Hubbard, and Wynonna Judd + Ashley McBryde (more info). Avery Anna, Chapel Hart, Jackson Dean, Lily Rose, Megan Moroney and Nate Smith perform from the Ram Trucks Side Stage (more info). 

  • NOMINATIONS: Lainey Wilson (4x) leads; Cody Johnson, co-host Kane Brown and first time nominee Jelly Roll (3x) follow (full list). 

  • VOTING: General voting is now closed. Voting for the highly-coveted “Video of the Year” category remains active through the show at vote.cmt.com

  • CMT AWARDS WEEK EVENTS: CMTMA Week lead-up events in downtown Austin begin March 29th. Fans can register to attend here. For media RSVPs, please reach out to cmt@triple7pr.com

  • CMT MUSIC AWARDS EXTENDED CUT: Premieres Thursday, April 6th (8:00-11:30 PM ET/PT) on CMT featuring 30 extra minutes of new performances and bonus content. 

  • PRESS CREDENTIALS: Applications are closed; please reach out to cmt@triple7pr.com with any questions. 

  • TICKETS: Available via Ticketmaster here.

  • SPONSORS: Official sponsors of the 2023 CMT MUSIC AWARDS include Ram Truck Brand and Solitaire Grand Harvest. 

  • CREDITS: Margaret Comeaux (CMT), John Hamlin (Switched On Entertainment), Leslie Fram (CMT) and Jason Owen (Sandbox Entertainment) are Executive Producers. 

  • PRESS SITES: For more info & news, visit CMTPress.com and ParamountPressExpress.com

  • SOCIALS: Use hashtag #CMTAwards and follow @CMT on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, YouTube and Tik Tok.




Celebrated for its high-powered, world-premiere and cross-genre performances, the CMT MUSIC AWARDS have aired live since 2005, delivering Nashville’s biggest party to music fans across the globe. The 2022 show, hosted by superstars Anthony Mackie, Kelsea Ballerini and Kane Brown, featured performances from country music’s biggest stars with epic first-time collaborations and cross-genre pairings, including Jimmie Allen, Monica + Little Big Town, Kenny Chesney, Mickey Guyton + Black Pumas, Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris + Ryan Hurd, Keith Urban, the last televised performance from legendary duo The Judds, and Carrie Underwood, who remains the most-awarded artist in CMT Awards history with 25 wins. 2022 CMT MUSIC AWARDS highlights here

About Moody Center:

Moody Center provides the nation’s 11th largest city with a premier venue to host the biggest artists and acts on the planet. Designed specifically for concerts, the new arena replaces the 45-year-old Frank C. Erwin Jr. Center at The University of Texas and is home to The University of Texas Women’s and Men’s basketball games, family shows, and other sporting and community events. Moody Center is the first of its kind in the industry with an unrivaled partnership between Oak View Group, Live Nation/C3 Presents, The University of Texas at Austin and Minister of Culture, Matthew McConaughey. In 2022, Moody Center ranked #1 highest grossing venue in its category by Billboard Magazine and received the 2022-23 New Venue of the Year Award by Pollstar Magazine. Additional information and news, follow @moodycenteratx on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, YouTube and Tik Tok

*Paramount+ Premium subscribers will have access to stream live via the live feed of their local CBS affiliate on the service as well as on demand. Essential-tier subscribers will have access to on-demand the day after the special airs.

* * *

Press Contacts: 

Ali Marszalkowski | ali.marszalkowski@paramount.com 

Shannon Leigh Keenan | shannonleigh@triple7pr.com


Kate Fisher | khfisher@viacomcbs.com

Mallory Mason | Mallory.Mason@viacomcbs.com 

Moody Center

Veronica Cantu |vcantu@moodycenteratx.com

Teagan Raher | traher@moodycenteratx.com


2023 CMT Music Awards


Viacom Entertainment Group © 2024 MTV Networks. All Rights Reserved.