Carrie Underwood took home two trophies as the evening’s big winner for the 2006 CMT MUSIC AWARDS announced tonight on CMT’s live telecast from Nashville. Hosted by Jeff Foxworthy, the 2006 CMT MUSIC AWARDS not only revealed the winners in nine categories, but also featured country legend Hank Williams Jr. accepting the Johnny Cash Visionary Award, a moving tribute to the late Buck Owens and a show-stopping closing performance by Video of the Year winner, Keith Urban that brought the crowd to its feet. 

As country music’s only fan-voted awards show, more than three million fans logged on to CMT.com to vote for their favorite videos. For the first time, fans could also log on CMT.com to watch a live simulcast of the show. A complete list of winners appears below.

As host of the 2006 CMT MUSIC AWARDS, Jeff Foxworthy pulled out all the stops in the opening number as he was joined by his “Dancing With the Stars” dance partner, Lisa Rinna. Jeff’s red sequined top and black stretch pants rivaled Lisa’s glittery costume as the two danced to their own version of “Honky Tonk Badonkadonk,” before introducing Trace Adkins who sang the song before a roaring crowd. 

Keith Urban won the coveted Video of the Year honor for his video “Better Life.” Fans voted live via CMT.com and text message to determine the winner during the live broadcast (ET/CT only). After winning, Urban closed the evening with his award-winning single and a rousing tribute to the victims of Hurricane Katrina that included members of displaced choirs from the disaster regions.

Country icon Hank Williams Jr. faced a standing ovation as he accepted the Johnny Cash Visionary Award from presenters and friends Kid Rock and Gretchen Wilson. Williams was also honored by friends and family in a moving pre-taped tribute featuring Merle Haggard, Charlie Daniels, Dierks Bentley, Kid Rock and Williams’ daughter, Holly Williams.

Dwight Yoakam honored his late friend and mentor, the legendary Buck Owens in a moving tribute and a special performance of “I’ve Got a Tiger By the Tail.”

Other show-stopping performances include Faith Hill (“Lucky One”), Kenny Chesney (“Beer in Mexico”), Carrie Underwood (“Jesus Take the Wheel”), Toby Keith (“Get Drunk and Be Somebody”), Gretchen Wilson (“All Jacked Up”), Rascal Flatts (“What Hurts The Most”), Sugarland (“Down in Mississippi”), Brooks & Dunn (“Believe”) and Trace Adkins (“Honky Tonk Badonkadonk”).

Joining Foxworthy onstage were such celebrity presenters as Wynonna, Kenny Rogers, Lisa Rinna, Kid Rock, Martina McBride, Jewel, Kelly Preston, Caroline Rhea, Sela Ward, Montgomery Gentry, Gretchen Wilson, Billy Currington, Miranda Lambert, John Corbett, Blake Shelton, Josh Turner, Jack Ingram, Miss America 2006 Jennifer Berry, professional bull riding star Ty Murray, The Wreckers (Michelle Branch and Jessica Harp) and newcomer Ashley Monroe.



Viacom Entertainment Group © 2024 MTV Networks. All Rights Reserved.